Valery Gergiev | Orchestra and Chorus of the Mariinsky Theatre


New Year’s Concert at the Mariinsky

For the 2007 New Year, an unprecedented concert event dedicated to memorable premieres at St Petersburg’s Mariinsky Theatre.

A new concert hall designed by French architect Xavier Fabre had just been opened at the Mariinsky Theatre, in the shrine of this historic building: the workshop where the sets and costumes from past productions were stored. To mark the 2007 New Year, conductor Valery Gergiev, leading the Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra, offered a retrospective of the great works that had rung out inside the theatre’s walls.

On the programme: the overture from Verdi’s Force of Destiny, Yuri Bashmet in the finale from Berlioz’s Harold in Italy, a Polka by Johan Strauss Jr, Rimsky-Korsakov’s Capriccio Espagnol, the second movement of Rachmaninov’s Symphony No. 2, Liszt’s Second Piano Concerto with Yefim Bronfman, Stravinsky’s Firebird and Borodin’s Polovstian Dances.

Buy online

18,08 €

SKU: BAC031. Category: .

New Year’s Concert at the Mariinsky [DVD]

MIKHAIL GLINKA : Ruslan & Lyudmila – Overture
HECTOR BERLIOZ : Harold en Italie – Finale
GIUSEPPE VERDI : La Forza del destino – Overture
RICHARD WAGNER Lohengrin – Prelude (Act III)
JOHANN STRAUSS JR. Polka op. 281
FRANZ LISZT Piano Concerto n°2
NIKOLAI RIMSKY-KORSAKOV : Capriccio espagnol – 2nd movement
ALEXANDRE BORODINE Prince Igor – Polovtsian Dances
SERGUEI RACHMANINOFF : Symphony n°2 – 2nd movement
IGOR STRAVINSKY : The Firebird – Finale

Orchestra & Chorus of the Mariinsky Theatre

Conductor Valery Gergiev

Piano Yefim Bronfman
Alto Yuri Bashmet


Enregistrement HD : Théâtre Mariinsky | 01/2007
Réalisation : Chloé Perlemuter
Date de parution : 22 novembre 2007
Distribution : Outhere Distribution France

: BAC031
Barcode : 3760115300316
Running time : 158 min.
Booklet : FR / ENG | 24 pages
Image : Color, 16/9, NTSC
Sound : PCM 2.0, Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS 5.1
Region code : 0