Mozart : Don Giovanni

9,99

SKU: BAC210 Category:

[DVD]

The main event of the 1998‘s Festival d’Aix-en-Provence, this production of Don Giovanni, staged by Peter Brook and directed by Daniel Harding, marked the inauguration of the Lissner area at the head of the french Festival. With Peter Mattei in the title role !

Description

About

Mozart : Don Giovanni

The main event of the 1998‘s Festival d’Aix-en-Provence, this production of Don Giovanni, marked the inauguration of the Lissner area at the head of the french Festival. This production had since been played in 1999 and in 2002. This DVD presents the 2002’s cast.

A colored square at the center of the stage. Everywhere some multicolor scholar’s desks, trestles and wood pieces have been drawed up the stage. Out of this central square, but always on the stage, stands up the continuo (Cello, harpsichordist) and benches on which the singers set down sometimes, when they are not interested in the action. So we can present the scenic set imagined by Peter Brook.

No historical reconstitution, it just needs imagination : trestles are transforming into windows, fences, or gates, desks and wood pieces into all what your mind can imagine. The Don Giovanni’s ghost will come back from hell accompanied by the Commandatore, and then he will join the still living people, eventually approving the Donna Elvira’s decision to enter a convent.

As Don Giovanni, Peter Mattei is a burning heart of fire destroying everybody around him. Condamned from the beginning, perverse, unhealthy, this Don Giovanni is so fascinating that the interpret have a oneiric physical aspect, an Herculean strength and a gorgeous voice. Others protagonists are exactly what they have to be in front of such a libertine: shadows ineluctably attracted by this intense emanation of vitality. Gilles Cachemaille is a convincing and solid Leporello, Mireille Delunsch a noble Elvira, Alexandra Deshorties a very beautiful Donna Anna, Lisa Larrson a lovely Zerlina and Mark Padmore gives his warm voice to Ottavio’s character.

At the head of the Mahler Chamber Orchestra, the young Daniel Harding is conducting with passion and success the Mozart’s greatest opera.

Distribution

Mozart : Don Giovanni

Opera in two acts

Music : Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
Libretto : Lorenzo da Ponte

Don Giovanni : Peter Mattei
Leporello : Gilles Cachemaille
Masetto : Nathan Berg
Don Ottavio : Mark Padmore
Donna Anna : Alexandra Deshorties
Donna Elvira : Mireille Delunsch
Zerlina : Lisa Larsson
Il Commendatore : Gudjon Oskarsson

Mahler Chamber Orchestra

Conductor : Daniel Harding

Stage direction and costumes : Peter Brook

Scenic elements : Tom Pye
Lighting design : Jean Kalman

Image gallery
Flickr Album Gallery Powered By: WP Frank
Technical informations

HD recording : Festival d’Aix-en-Provence | 07/2002
TV direction : Vincent Bataillon
Release date : 13 October 2005
Distribution : Naxos Distribution

1 DVD
Reference
: BAC210
Barcode : 3760115302105
Running time : 158 min.
Bonus : Interview with Peter Brook (16′)
Booklet : FR / ENG / GER
Subtitles : FR / ENG / GER
Image : Color, 16/9, NTSC
Sound : PCM 2.0, Dolby Digital 5.1
Region code : 0

You may also like…

Daniel Harding | Peter Brook | Festival d’Aix-en-Provence

bac210-don-giovanni-recto

Mozart : Don Giovanni

Événement de la saison aixoise 1998 ce Don Giovanni mis en scène par Peter Brook inaugurait l’ère Lissner à la tête du Festival. Cette production fût ensuite reprise en 1999 et 2002. C’est la distribution de 2002 qui a été ici enregistrée pour le DVD.

Un carré coloré posé au milieu de la scène. Disséminés un peu partout, des pupitres d’écoliers multicolores, des tréteaux, des barres de bois. En dehors du carré, mais toujours sur la scène, le continuo (clavecin et violoncelle) et des bancs sur lesquels les chanteurs viennent parfois s’asseoir quand ils ne participent pas à l’action. Voici tout le dispositif scénique imaginé par Peter Brook.

Pas de reconstitution historique, place à l’imagination : les tréteaux se muent en fenêtre, en barrière, en portillon, les pupitres et les barres de bois se transforment en à peu près tout ce qu’il est possible de concevoir. Le fantôme de Don Giovanni, une fois descendu aux enfers, reviendra sur scène accompagné du commandeur et se mêlera aux vivants, approuvant la décision de Donna Elvira de rentrer au couvent.

Peter Mattei est un Don Giovanni irradiant, incandescent, un foyer d’énergie brûlant tous ceux qui l’approchent. Condamné d’entrée de jeu, pervers, malsain, ce Don Giovanni fascine d’autant plus que l’interprète possède un physique de rêve, une force herculéenne et une voix magnifique. Face à lui, les autres protagonistes sont exactement ce qu’ils se doivent d’être face au libertin : des ombres attirées par la vitalité intense qui en émane. Gilles Cachemaille est un Leporello convainquant et solide, Mireille Delunsch campe une Elvira de grande noblesse, Alexandra Deshorties est une très belle Donna Anna, Lisa Larrson une adorable Zerlina tandis que Mark Padmore met sa voix ronde et sensuelle au service d’Ottavio.

A la tête du Mahler Chamber Orchestra, le jeune chef Daniel Harding insuffle souffle et folie au chef d’œuvre de Mozart.

Revue de presse

« Don Giovanni, son souffle, sa voix, son sang. Un plateau d’une homogénéité rare dans le jeu théâtral comme dans la performance vocale. » Marie-Aude Roux – Le Monde

« La direction du jeune chef Daniel Harding, vive est en parfaite osmose avec la mise en scène. » Michel Alexandre – La Provence

« Le fait est que le courant passe entre Harding et le metteur en scène et que c’est ici le Mozart de Brook. Ce qui semble d’avant garde (…) est en fait un retour aux sources. Ainsi les trois Don Giovanni, celui du chef d’orchestre, celui du metteur en scène et… celui de Mozart, finissent-ils par n’en faire qu’un, celui d’un plaisir d’où le fil sombre de la mort n’est jamais tout à fait absent. » Jean Boissieu – La Marseillaise

Acheter

9,99 €

UGS : BAC210. Catégorie : .

Mozart : Don Giovanni [DVD]

Opéra en deux actes

Musique : Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
Livret : Lorenzo da Ponte

Don Giovanni : Peter Mattei
Leporello : Gilles Cachemaille
Masetto : Nathan Berg
Don Ottavio : Mark Padmore
Donna Anna : Alexandra Deshorties
Donna Elvira : Mireille Delunsch
Zerlina : Lisa Larsson
Il Commendatore : Gudjon Oskarsson

Mahler Chamber Orchestra

Direction musicale : Daniel Harding

Mise en scène et costumes : Peter Brook

Eléments scéniques : Tom Pye
Lumières  : Jean Kalman

FICHE TECHNIQUE

Enregistrement HD : Festival d’Aix-en-Provence | 07/2002
Réalisation : Vincent Bataillon
Date de parution : 13 octobre 2005
Distribution : Outhere Distribution France

1 DVD
Référence
: BAC210
Code-barre : 3760115302105
Durée : 158 min.
Bonus : Entretien avec Peter Brook (16′)
Livret : FR / ANG / ALL
Sous-titres : FR / ANG / ALL
Image : Couleur, 16/9, NTSC
Son : PCM 2.0, Dolby Digital 5.1
Code région : 0

galerie photo

vous aimerez également...