The Art of Ohad Naharin : Last Work [VOD]

About

THE ART OF OHAD NAHARIN

Founded in Tel-Aviv in 1964, the Batsheva Dance Company has been headed since 1990 by Ohad Naharin: an incredible dancer with a musical training, who has a true passion for movement. Through his “Gaga” technique, a choreographic vocabulary that explores the sensations and the availability of the bodies, he made his mark on the dance world and offered the company its finest hours. In 2015, Tomer Heymann’s documentary “Mr. Gaga” paid tribute to the Naharin phenomenon, its influence on the contemporary dance scene and in pop culture.

A carefully negotiated balance between frenzy and meditation, a frail and unstable whole saturated with an enigmatic opacity and symbolism, Last Work is also a politically committed, ethically-charged piece reflecting on war, peace, oppression and coercion. While dance is stretched up to its limits, Naharin’s choreographic gesture calls for a new outlook on our contemporary world, its violence, its possibilities, its future.

Distribution

LAST WORK
by Ohad Naharin

With Billy Barry, Yael Ben Ezer, Matan Cohen, Omri Drumlevich, Bret Easterling, Hsin-Yi Hsiang, Chunwoong Kim, Rani Lebzelter, Eri Nakamura, Ori Moshe Ofri, Nitzan Ressler, Or Meir Schreiber, Maayan Sheinfeld, Yoni (Yonatan) Simon, Amalia Smith, Bobbi Jene Smith, Zina (Natalia) Zinchenko

Original music : Grischa Lichtenberger
Additional music : Sagat, Hysterics, MPIA3, Monkeys, Luminox, Lullabies-Of-Europe, Clara Rockmore

Scenography : Zohar Shoef
Costumes : Eri Nakamura

Image gallery
Flickr Album Gallery Powered By: WP Frank
Press review

About Ohad Naharin

‘‘a dance pioneer’’ – WASHINGTON POST

‘‘one of the most important choreographers in the world’’ – THE NEW YORK TIMES

‘‘the most widely worshipped guru of modern dance’’ – DANCE MAGAZINE

‘‘one of the most important living choreographers’’ – THE GUARDIAN

‘‘he is a genius’’ – VARIETY

About the Batsheva Dance Company

‘‘I never saw the combination of that kind of beauty and energy and technique.’’ – MIKHAIL BARYSHNIKOV

       
0

The Art of Ohad Naharin : Last Work [VOD]

About

THE ART OF OHAD NAHARIN

Fondée en 1964 à Tel-Aviv, la Batsheva Dance Company est dirigée depuis 1990 par Ohad Naharin. De formation musicale, passionné de mouvement, c’est à travers la technique « Gaga », une écriture axée sur l’exploration des sensations et la disponibilité du corps, que ce chorégraphe virtuose et engagé a su imposer sa marque de fabrique et écrire les grandes heures de la compagnie israélienne. En 2015, le film Mr. Gaga. Sur les pas d’Ohad Naharin des frères Heymann rendait déjà hommage à ce phénomène de la danse moderne et de la pop culture.

Reposant sur un équilibre fragile entre pulsation et méditation, totalité fragmentée et instable saturée d’un symbolisme opaque et énigmatique, Last Work est également une pièce qui reflète l’engagement politique et éthique du chorégraphe israélien, qui signe ici une réflexion sur la guerre, la paix, la résistance à l’oppression. En disloquant le principe même de la danse, la gestuelle chorégraphique de Naharin crée un nouveau regard sur notre monde, sa violence, ses possibilités, son avenir.

Distribution

LAST WORK
de Ohad Naharin

Avec Billy Barry, Yael Ben Ezer, Matan Cohen, Omri Drumlevich, Bret Easterling, Hsin-Yi Hsiang, Chunwoong Kim, Rani Lebzelter, Eri Nakamura, Ori Moshe Ofri, Nitzan Ressler, Or Meir Schreiber, Maayan Sheinfeld, Yoni (Yonatan) Simon, Amalia Smith, Bobbi Jene Smith, Zina (Natalia) Zinchenko

Musique originale : Grischa Lichtenberger
Musiques additionnelles : Sagat, Hysterics, MPIA3, Monkeys, Luminox, Lullabies-Of-Europe, Clara Rockmore

Scénographie : Zohar Shoef
Costumes : Eri Nakamura

Galerie photo
Flickr Album Gallery Powered By: WP Frank
Presse

« Une pièce étincelante d’Ohad Naharin, pleine d’émotions et d’inventions. Une oeuvre en prise avec son temps.» – LA TERRASSE

« Une écriture savante et conflic­tuelle qui défroisse un nœud de nerfs et le transforme en kaléidoscope de lignes. La danse de Mr Gaga […] est un branle-bas de combat de styles et d’humeurs. » – LE MONDE (Rosita Boisseau)

« Une chorégraphie entre mouvements semblant au ralenti et accélération folle, portée par certains des interprètes actuels les plus doués. De quoi être un peu plus gaga d’Ohad… » – LES ECHOS (Philippe Noisette)

       
0