“The Nutcracker” by the Ballet Company of the National Opera of Ukraine – Synopsis

It is Christmas Eve. Family and friends have gathered in the parlor to decorate the beautiful Christmas tree in preparation for the party. Once the tree is finished, the children are sent for. They stand in awe of the tree sparkling with candles and decorations.
The party begins. A march is played. Presents are given out to the children. Suddenly, as the owl-topped grandmother clock strikes eight, a mysterious figure enters the room. It is Drosselmeyer, a local councilman, magician, and Clara’s godfather. He is also a talented toymaker who has brought with him gifts for the children, including four lifelike dolls who dance to the delight of all. He then has them put away for safekeeping.
bac161-bac561-casse-noisette-a-7460-act-1
Clara and Fritz are sad to see the dolls being taken away, but Drosselmeyer has yet another toy for them: a wooden nutcracker carved in the shape of a little man, used for cracking nuts. The other children ignore it, but Clara immediately takes a liking to it. Fritz, however, purposely breaks it. Clara is heartbroken.
bac161-bac561-casse-noisette-a-9562-act-2
During the night, after everyone else has gone to bed, Clara returns to the parlor to check on her beloved nutcracker. As she reaches the little bed, the clock strikes midnight and she looks up to see Drosselmeyer perched atop it. Suddenly, mice begin to fill the room and the Christmas tree begins to grow to dizzying heights. The nutcracker also grows to life size. Clara finds herself in the midst of a battle between an army of gingerbread soldiers and the mice, led by their king. They begin to eat the soldiers.
bac161-bac561-casse-noisette-a-8117-act-1
The nutcracker appears to lead the soldiers, who are joined by tin ones and dolls who serve as doctors to carry away the wounded. As the Mouse King advances on the still-wounded nutcracker, Clara throws her slipper at him, distracting him long enough for the nutcracker to stab him.

The mice retreat and the nutcracker is transformed into a handsome Prince. He leads Clara through the moonlit night to a pine forest in which the snowflakes dance around them, beckoning them on to his kingdom as the first act ends.

bac161-bac561-casse-noisette-a-8389-act-1
Clara and the Prince travel to the beautiful Land of Sweets.

In honor of the young heroine, a celebration of dolls from around the world is produced: Spain, India, China, Russia and France. All dance for their amusement; a string of beautiful flowers perform a waltz. To conclude the night, Clara and her Prince perform a dance.

bac161-bac561-casse-noisette-a-8650-act-2
A final waltz is performed by all the sweets.

Clara wakes up from her dream, the Nutcracker is just a toy again.

on DVD & Blu-ray

0

Start typing and press Enter to search

LEAVING ALREADY ? 

Twitter Facebook Instagram YouTube

If you want to learn about our new releases and (re)discover our most famous titles, don't forget to follow us on social media !

“Casse-Noisette” par le Ballet de l’Opéra national d’Ukraine – Synopsis

Le soir de Noël. Famille et amis se rassemblent dans le salon pour décorer un magnifique arbre de Noël en amont de la fête. Quand l’arbre est prêt, on appelle les enfants. Ils contemplent avec admiration l’arbre qui brille de mille feux, paré de bougies et de divers ornements.
La fête commence. On joue une marche. On offre aux enfants leurs cadeaux. Soudainement, la vieille horloge, surmontée d’une décoration de chouette, sonne huit heures. Un personnage mystérieux fait son entrée. Il s’agit de Drosselmeyer, homme politique local, magicien, et parrain de Clara. Talentueux fabriquant de jouet, il a apporté des cadeaux pour les enfants, dont quatre poupées d’un surprenant réalisme qui se mettent à danser, pour le bonheur de tous. Drosselmeyer les remet ensuite en sûreté.
bac161-bac561-casse-noisette-a-7460-act-1
Clara et Fritz regrettent le départ des poupées, mais Drosselmeyer a encore un cadeau pour eux : un casse-noisette en bois en forme de petit soldat. Tous les enfants l’ignorent, mais Clara se prend immédiatement d’affection pour le petit homme. Mais Fritz, méchamment, le casse. Clara a le cœur brisé.
bac161-bac561-casse-noisette-a-9562-act-2
La nuit, lorsque tout le monde est parti se coucher, Clara retourne dans le salon pour veiller sur son casse-noisette. Elle s’approche du petit lit où il repose, et l’horloge sonne les douze coups de minuit. Elle aperçoit alors Drosselmeyer, penché sur le casse-noisette. Soudain, des rats envahissent la pièce et le sapin de Noël se met à grandir, grandir, grandir… Le casse-noisette grandit à son tour et prend forme humaine. Clara se retrouve au beau milieu d’une bataille entre les rats, menés par leur roi, et une armée de soldats en pain d’épice. Les rats n’hésitent pas à les manger.
bac161-bac561-casse-noisette-a-8117-act-1
Casse-Noisette semble mener les soldats, qui sont vite rejoints par des figurines de plombs et des poupées qui s’occupent des blessés. Le Roi des Rats se rapproche de Casse-Noisette, toujours blessé, Clara lui jette alors son chausson à la figure, créant la diversion nécessaire pour que Casse-Noisette puisse poignarder le Roi.

Les Rats battent en retraite et Casse-Noisette se transforme en prince charmant. Il emmène Clara dans une forêt de pins où les flocons de neige se mettent à danser autour d’eux, leur souhaitant la bienvenue dans le royaume du Prince.

bac161-bac561-casse-noisette-a-8389-act-1
Clara et le Prince voyagent au Pays des Sucreries, sur lequel il règne. En l’honneur de Clara, qui a sauvé le souverain du Roi des Rats, une cérémonie est organisée au cours de laquelle des poupées du monde entier dansent des divertissements : Espagne, Inde, Chine, Russie, France… Un bouquet de fleurs somptueuses leur dansent ensuite une valse. La soirée se conclut par un long pas de deux entre Clara et le Prince.
bac161-bac561-casse-noisette-a-8650-act-2
Les poupées dansent une dernière valse.

Clara se réveille, et Casse-Noisette est de nouveau un jouet.

En DVD & Blu-ray

Ne manquez plus une parution !

0

Saisissez votre requête et appuyez sur "Entrée"