Gene Kelly | Leo Staats | Ballet Nice-Méditerrannée

bac127-cover-pas-de-dieuxrecto

Pas de Dieux | Soir de Fête

Two great, but rarely performed, ballets by the Ballet Nice Méditerranée:

GENE KELLY – PAS DE DIEUX

Pas de Dieux tells the story of Aphrodite and Eros, who descend to earth. On the beach where they have landed, the ardent goddess and mischievous god seduce respectively a lifeguard and his fiancée. These newly-formed couples bask in the pleasures of love. Just when the beautiful Aphrodite is dancing with her suitor, Zeus arrives to win back his fickle wife, and everything returns to normal. The reconciled immortals return to Olympus, leaving the humans to their earthly loves.

This admirably constructed ballet by Gene Kelly faithfully follows the three movements of Gershwin’s Concerto in F. The choreography is snappy and full of fantasy, each step a gag. Dancing while rolling the shoulders, knees bent and feet turned in perhaps constitutes an approach contrary to laws of aesthetics but it certainly complies with those of humour.

LÉO STAATS – SOIR DE FÊTE

A choreographer appreciated by Balanchine, Léo Staats is a figure from the world of dance who does not enjoy the fame he deserves. Competing in his time with the scandalous Ballets Russes, he was a brilliant albeit discreet maître de ballet and, above all, a great teacher. His choreographies had the merit of getting down to a task that was considerable at the time: restoring to favour the role of the male dancer, which the 19th century had relegated to that of simple bearer. With Soir de Fête, a work from 1925, we witness the remarkable renaissance of the male dancer, leaping and moving freely alongside his female partners. This choreography ideally illustrates the end of a counterproductive male/female antagonism that had finished by draining dance.

Buy online

23,93 €

Category: .

Pas de Dieux | Soir de Fête [DVD]

GENE KELLY – PAS DE DIEUX
Music : George Gershwin (1898-1937) | Concerto in F for piano and orchestra

Choreography : Gene Kelly
Arranged by
 Claude Bessy
and Éric Vu-An

Lighting design Patrick Méeüs
Sets and costumes André François

LÉO STAATS – SOIR DE FÊTE
Music : Léo Delibes (1836-1891)

Choreography : Léo Staats
Arranged by Claude Bessy
And Éric Vu-An

Ligthing design : Patrick Méeüs
Sets and costumes : André François

Ballet Nice-Méditerrannée
Direction : Éric Vu-An

Orchestre Philharmonique de Nice
Conductor : David Garforth

Technical informations

Recording : Opéra de Nice | 12/2014
Direction : Andy Sommer
Release date : 15 April 2016
Distribution : Naxos Distribution

1 DVD
Reference
: BAC127
Barcode : 3760115301276
Running time : 81 min.
Film : 69 min.
Bonus : Interview with Claude Bessy (12 min.)
Booklet : FR / ENG
Image : Color, 16/9, NTSC
Sound : PCM 2.0, Dolby Digital 5.1
Region code : 0

image gallery

Gene Kelly | Leo Staats | Ballet Nice-Méditerrannée

bac127-cover-pas-de-dieuxrecto

Pas de Dieux | Soir de Fête

Deux grands ballets rares par le Ballet Nice Méditérranée :

GENE KELLY – PAS DE DIEUX

Pas de Dieux raconte l’histoire d’Aphrodite et Eros qui s’envolent vers la terre. Sur la plage où ils ont atterri, l’ardente déesse et le dieu malicieux séduisent respectivement un maître nageur et sa fiancée. Les couples ainsi formés se prélassent dans les plaisirs de l’amour. Au moment ou la belle Aphrodite danse avec son prétendant, Zeus survient pour reconquérir sa volage épouse et tout rentre dans l’ordre.

Les immortels réconciliés remontent vers les cieux laissant les humains à leurs amours terrestres. Ce ballet de Gene Kelly admirablement construit suit fidèlement les trois mouvements du concerto en fa de Gershwin. La chorégraphie est percutante et pleine de fantaisie. Chaque pas est un « gag ». Danser en roulant les épaules, les genoux pliés et les pieds rentrés constitue peut-être un parti pris contraire à toutes les lois esthétiques mais bien conforme à celle de l’humour.

LÉO STAATS – SOIR DE FÊTE

Chorégraphe apprécié par Balanchine, Léo Staats est une figure du monde de la danse qui ne bénéficie pas de la mise en lumière qu’il mérite. Concurrencé en son temps par les sulfureux Ballets Russes, il a été un maître de ballet brillant bien que discret et surtout un grand pédagogue. Ses chorégraphies ont eu le mérite de s’être attelées à un chantier alors considérable : la revalorisation du rôle du danseur que le XIXe siècle avait réduit à celui de simple porteur. Avec Soir de Fête, œuvre de 1925, on assiste de manière remarquable à cette renaissance du danseur bondissant et évoluant librement aux côtés des danseuses. Cette chorégraphie illustre bien la fin d’un antagonisme homme – femme contreproductif qui avait fini par assécher la danse.

Acheter

23,93 € 19,14€

Catégorie : .

Pas de Dieux | Soir de Fête [DVD]

GENE KELLY – PAS DE DIEUX
Musique : George Gershwin (1898-1937) | Concerto en fa pour piano et orchestre

Chorégraphie : Gene Kelly
Réglée par Claude Bessy
Avec la participation de Éric Vu-An

Lumières Patrick Méeüs
Décors et costumes André François

LÉO STAATS – SOIR DE FÊTE
Musique : Léo Delibes (1836-1891)

Chorégraphie : Léo Staats
Réglée par
 Claude Bessy
Avec la participation de Éric Vu-An

Lumières : Patrick Méeüs
Décors et costumes : André François

Ballet Nice-Méditerrannée
Direction : Éric Vu-An

Orchestre Philharmonique de Nice
Direction musicale : David Garforth

FICHE TECHNIQUE

Enregistrement : Opéra de Nice | 12/2014
Réalisation : Andy Sommer
Date de parution : 15 avril 2016
Distribution : Outhere Distribution France

1 DVD
Référence
: BAC127
Code-barre : 3760115301276
Durée : 81 min.
Film : 69 min.
Bonus : Entretien avec Claude Bessy (12 min.)
Livret : FR / ANG
Image : Couleur, 16/9, NTSC
Son : PCM 2.0, Dolby Digital 5.1
Code région : 0

galerie photo