Sale!

The Art of Ohad Naharin vol. 2

20,34 22,34

SKU: N/A Category:

[ DVD – BLU-RAY ]

Sadeh21 by Ohad Naharin, danced by the “junior” branch of Batsheva (The Young Ensemble) and filmed at Chaillot – Théâtre national de la Danse.

Clear

Description

About

The Art of Ohad Naharin vol. 2 (Sadeh21)

Founded in Tel-Aviv in 1964, the Batsheva Dance Company was headed from 1990 to 2018 by Ohad Naharin, an incredible dancer with a musical training, and a true passion for movement. Through his “Gaga” technique, a choreographic vocabulary that explores the sensations and the availability of the bodies, he made his mark on the dance world and offered the company its finest hours. In 2015, Tomer Heymann’s documentary “Mr. Gaga” paid tribute to the Naharin phenomenon, its influence on the contemporary dance scene and in pop culture. The collection ‘‘The Art of Ohad Naharin’’ is a showcase of Naharin’s aesthetics and demanding technique : after a first volume featuring Naharin’s Virus and Last Work, two of the most emblematic works in the company’s current repertoire, this new release presents Sadeh21, created in 2011 in collaboration with the dancers, and interpreted by the ‘‘junior’’ branch of Batsheva : The Young Ensemble.

Transmission is a fundamental element of Naharin’s philosophy. It is not surprising that Batsheva – The Young Ensemble was created the same year that the choreographer took over the Israeli company, on the contrary, it shows the choreographer’s desire to nurture young dancers and help them develop their creative process, but also to deepen his own choreographic language by getting an outside look on his own work. This is what happens with Sadeh21 : upon seeing it danced by the Young Ensemble, Naharin even said it felt like seeing it for the first time. This ‘‘choreographic odyssee’’, this ‘‘epic-dance expedition’’, with its strong contrasting effects and its bare simplicity, presents the essence of movement, stripped of all tricks or devices, and thus underscores the extraordinary emotional powers of dance. Rejuvenated by a new generation of interprets from all over the world, the choreography becomes incandescent and resembles an explosion of sensuality, radiant, dangerous and exciting.

Distribution

The Art of Ohad Naharin vol.2 (Sadeh21) [DVD & Blu-ray]

SADEH21
by Ohad Naharin

With the dancers of Batsheva – The Young Ensemble
Chen Agron, Gil Amishai, Cesar Brodermann, Ariel Gelbart, Londiwe Khoza, Béatrice Larrivée, Shir Levy, Federico Longo, Ohad Mazor, Robin Lesley Nimanong, Tom Nissim, Igor Ptashenchuk, Tamar Rosenzweig, Lihi Shochatovitch, Nicolas Ventura, Shaked Werner
and Reches Itzhaki, Avigail Shafrir

Lighting design : Avi Yona Bueno (Bambi)
Soundtrack Design and Edit : Maxim Waratt
Costumes : Ariel Cohen
Videos : Raz Friedman

This piece is dedicated to Noa Eshkol (1924 – 2007)
Creator of the Eshkol-Wachman Movement Method and Notation

Musical excerpts :
Autechre & The Hafler Trio – 3hae
Ohad Fishof & Maxim Waratt – Pictures
David Darling – Stones Start Spinning, Music Of A Desire, Remembering Our Mothers
Tomoko Sauvage – Calligraphy
Autechre – Vletrmx
Jun Miyake – La Clé
Gavin Bryars – After The Requiem
Jacob Kirkegaard – Swimming Pool
Angelo Badalamenti – Diane And Camilla
Junko – Untitled (Side A)

Image gallery
Flickr Album Gallery Powered By: WP Frank
Press review

‘‘Unforgettable’’ – SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE

‘‘… the amazingness of every single dancer’’ – NEW YORK TIMES

‘‘ The dancers have the uncanny ability to deliver a physicality that is playful as much as it is tormented, creating a tension on stage that compels one to lean in and engage with what is unfolding on the boards.’’ – BACHTRACK

‘‘ A masterpiece’’ – OUT

Technical informations

HD recording : Chaillot – Théâtre national de la danse | 09/2018
TV direction : Tommy Pascal
Release date : 25 Octobre 2019
Distribution : Naxos Distribution

1 DVD
Reference
: BAC172
Barcode : 3760115301726
Running time : 76 min.
Image : Color, 16/9, NTSC
Sound : PCM 2.0, Dolby Digital 5.1
Region code : 0

1 BLU-RAY
Reference : BAC472
Barcode : 3760115304727
Running time : 76 min.
Image : Color, 16/9, Full HD
Sound : PCM 2.0, DTS HD Master audio 5.1
Region code : A, B, C

You may also like…

Sadeh21 | Batsheva – The Young Ensemble

The Art of Ohad Naharin vol. 2 (Sadeh21)

Fondée en 1964 à Tel-Aviv, la Batsheva Dance Company fut dirigée de 1990 à 2018 par Ohad Naharin. De formation musicale, passionné de mouvement, c’est à travers la technique « Gaga », une écriture axée sur l’exploration des sensations et la disponibilité du corps, que ce chorégraphe virtuose et engagé a su imposer sa marque de fabrique et écrire les grandes heures de la compagnie israélienne. En 2015, le film Mr. Gaga. Sur les pas d’Ohad Naharin des frères Heymann rendait déjà hommage à ce phénomène de la danse moderne et de la pop culture. La collection « The Art of Ohad Naharin » se conçoit comme un panorama de cette esthétique et de cette technique exigeante : après un premier volume consacré à Naharin’s Virus et Last Work, deux pièces emblématiques du répertoire actuel de la compagnie, cette édition présente la pièce Sadeh21, créée en 2011 en collaboration avec les danseurs, et interprétée ici par la branche « junior » de la Batsheva : The Young Ensemble.

La transmission est un élément essentiel de la philosophie de Naharin : ce n’est pas un hasard si Batsheva – The Young Ensemble vit le jour l’année même où le chorégraphe prit la tête de la compagnie israélienne. car le chorégraphe souhaitait aider de jeunes danseurs à nourrir leur créativité en leur offrant un soutien technique et artistique personnalisé, mais également se ressourcer dans la fraîcheur qu’apportaient ces artistes en début de carrière afin de densifier son langage chorégraphique. C’est ce qui se produit notamment ici avec Sadeh21 : dont Naharin disait, après l’avoir vu dansé par le Young Ensemble, qu’il avait la sensation de la voir pour la première fois. C’est que cette « odyssée chorégraphique », ce « voyage du corps », de par ses jeux de contraste mais aussi de par son dénuement, présente le mouvement dans son plus simple appareil, et souligne le pouvoir émotionnel unique de la danse : revivifiée par une jeune génération d’interprètes venus des quatre coins du monde, la chorégraphie atteint ce niveau d’incandescence qui en fait, selon Naharin lui-même, une explosion de sensualité, radieuse, dangereuse et passionante.

Presse du spectacle

« Une claque de modernité » – LE TÉLÉGRAMME

« Loin de tout conformisme stylistique ou de pensée, l’oeuvre de Naharin continue à interroger, à partager et à … enchanter. » – BALLET2000

« Une pièce magnétique » – LE MONDE

« on ne peut qu’admirer la parfaite appropriation du style gaga par ces jeunes danseurs dont les corps semblent façonnés par cette technique » – RESMUSICA

« 18 danseurs au coeur de la pureté et de l’extrême précision » – FRANCE TV INFO

Acheter

Effacer
UGS : ND. Catégorie : .

The Art of Ohad Naharin vol.2 (Sadeh21) [DVD & Blu-ray]

SADEH21
de Ohad Naharin

Avec les danseurs de Batsheva – The Young Ensemble
Chen Agron, Gil Amishai, Cesar Brodermann, Ariel Gelbart, Londiwe Khoza, Béatrice Larrivée, Shir Levy, Federico Longo, Ohad Mazor, Robin Lesley Nimanong, Tom Nissim, Igor Ptashenchuk, Tamar Rosenzweig, Lihi Shochatovitch, Nicolas Ventura, Shaked Werner
et Reches Itzhaki, Avigail Shafrir

Lumières : Avi Yona Bueno (Bambi)
Création et montage musicaux : Maxim Waratt
Costumes : Ariel Cohen
Vidéos : Raz Friedman

Cette pièce est dédiée à Noa Eshkol (1924 – 2007)
Créatrice de la méthode et de la notation du mouvement Eshkol-Wachman

Extraits musicaux :
Autechre & The Hafler Trio – 3hae
Ohad Fishof & Maxim Waratt – Pictures
David Darling – Stones Start Spinning, Music Of A Desire, Remembering Our Mothers
Tomoko Sauvage – Calligraphy
Autechre – Vletrmx
Jun Miyake – La Clé
Gavin Bryars – After The Requiem
Jacob Kirkegaard – Swimming Pool
Angelo Badalamenti – Diane And Camilla
Junko – Untitled (Side A)

FICHE TECHNIQUE

Enregistrement HD : Chaillot – Théâtre national de la danse | 09/2018
Réalisation : Tommy Pascal
Date de parution : 25 Octobre 2019
Distribution : Outhere Distribution France

1 DVD
Référence
: BAC172
Code-barre : 3760115301726
Durée : 76 min.
Image : Couleur, 16/9, NTSC
Son : PCM 2.0, Dolby Digital 5.1
Code région : 0

1 BLU-RAY
Référence : BAC472
Code-barre :3760115304727
Durée : 76 min.
Image : Couleur, 16/9, Full HD
Son : PCM 2.0, DTS HD Master audio 5.1
Code région : A, B, C