Wagner : Lohengrin

28,05 28,92

SKU: N/A Category:

[ DVD – BLU-RAY ]

NEW ! Watch now on VOD. 

What are heroes made of and why do our societies need them so badly ? At the Staatsoper Stuttgart, stage director Árpád Schilling tries to answer this mythological, political and existential question, lying at the core of Richard Wagner’s Lohengrin.

Clear

Description

About

Wagner : Lohengrin

What are heroes made of and why do our societies need them so badly ? At the Staatsoper Stuttgart, stage director Árpád Schilling tries to answer this mythological, political and existential question, lying at the core of Richard Wagner’s Lohengrin.

‘‘A wonder! A miracle!”, the men and women of Brabant agreed when, against all expectations, someone stood up for Elsa and invalidated the allegations made by the plaintiff Telramund. And yet he does the most normal thing in the world: to help a person in distress. So why is there a need for this savior, surrounded by the aura of mystery, whose name and origin even his new wife Elsa cannot ask? Why does the collective body abdicates its moral and political responsibilities and surrenders them to a single individual? And when does the providential man stops being a savior and becomes a threat? For Hungarian stage director Árpád Schilling, a fierce enemy of the very idea of the cult of a personality, and he himself a political exile, these questions lie at the core of Richard Wagner’s Lohengrin.

For his new production at the Staatsoper Stuttgart, the stage director recenters the opera on the expressivity of the direction, and strips the stage of all its ornamental or mythological elements. He creates a coming-of-age tale, pervaded by the themes of responsibility, trust, and the relationship between the individual and the collective. This powerful and ambitious proposition is mirrored in Maestro Cornelius Meister’s expressive and philosophical conducting, and in Michaël König, Simone Schneider, Martin Gantner, Okka von der Damerau’s profound singing.

Distribution

Wagner : Lohengrin [DVD & Blu-ray]

Romantic opera in three acts

Music & Libretto Richard Wagner

Heinrich der Vogler Goran Jurić
Lohengrin Michael König
Elsa von Brabant Simone Schneider
Friedrich von Telramund Martin Gantner
Ortrud Okka von der Damerau
Der Heerrufer des Königs Shigeo Ishino
Vier Edle Torsten Hofmann, Heinz Göhrig, Andrew Bogard, Michael Nagl
Vier Edelknaben Elisabeth Von Stritzky, Heike Beckmann, Simone Jackel, Jie Zhang

Staatsopernchor Stuttgart
Staatsorchester Stuttgart

Conductor Cornelius Meister

Stage Direction Árpád Schilling
Set Design Raimund Orfeo Voigt
Costume Design Tina Kloempken
Costume Design Collaboration Saskia Schneider
Lighting Design Támás Banyai
Dramaturgy Miron Hakenbeck
Chorus Master Manuel Pujol

Press

“Michael König triumphs”
– Resmusica

“[…] Simone Schneider’s spherical soprano…”
– Süddentsche Zeitung

“The chorus is grandiose”
– Deutschlandfunk Kultur

“Wagnerian theater, coherent and intelligent”
– Südwest Presse

Technical informations

Recording : Staatsoper Stuttgartt
Directed by : Video Department of Staatsoper Stuttgart
Release date
: November 13th 2020
Distribution : Naxos Distribution

2 DVD
Reference
: BAC175
Barcode : 3760115301757
Running time : 223 min.
Booklet : FR / ENG / GER
Subtitles : FR / ENG / GER / SPA / JAP / KOR
Image : Color, 16/9, NTSC
Sound : PCM 2.0
Region code : 0

1 BLU-RAY
Reference : BAC475
Barcode : 3760115304758
Running time : 223 min.
Booklet : FR / ENG / GER
Subtitles : FR / ENG / GER / SPA / JAP / KOR
Image : Color, 16/9, Full HD
Sound : PCM 2.0
Region code : A, B, C

You may also like…

Wagner : Lohengrin

28,05 28,92

UGS : ND Catégorie :

[ DVD – BLU-RAY ]

NOUVEAUTÉ ! Regarder le film en VOD.

Qu’est-ce qu’un héros et pourquoi nos sociétés en ont-elles autant besoin ? A l’Opéra de Stuttgart et sous la direction de Cornelius Meister, le metteur en scène hongrois Árpád Schilling dénoue cette question existentielle, à la fois politique et mythologique, dont Richard Wagner a fait la matière même de son Lohengrin.

Effacer

Description

About

Wagner : Lohengrin

Qu’est-ce qu’un héros et pourquoi nos sociétés en ont-elles autant besoin ? A l’Opéra de Stuttgart, le metteur en scène Árpád Schilling dénoue cette question existentielle, à la fois politique et mythologique, dont Wagner a fait la matière même de son Lohengrin.

« Une merveille ! Un miracle ! », crie en chœur le peuple du Brabant lorsque, contre toute attente, un homme décide de prendre la défense d’Elsa et démontre l’absurdité des allégations du plaignant Telramund. Mais il n’y a pourtant rien de plus naturel, que d’aider une personne en détresse. Pourquoi le corps collectif se déleste-t-il de ses responsabilités morales et politiques pour les confier à un seul individu surgi de nulle part ? Et pourquoi le mystérieux chevalier a-t-il besoin de cacher son identité, même à sa propre épouse ? A quel moment l’homme providentiel cesse-t-il d’être un héros et devient-il un danger ? Pour le metteur en scène hongrois Árpád Schilling, fervent opposant à l’idée du culte de la personnalité et lui-même sur la fameuse liste noire des opposants à Viktor Orbán, c’est autour de cette tension existentielle entre héroïsme et violence que Richard Wagner choisit de construire son sixième opéra.

Pour sa nouvelle production à l’Opéra de Stuttgart, le metteur en scène recentre l’opéra sur l’expressivité du jeu d’acteur et dépouille le plateau de ses éléments décoratifs. Il en fait ainsi une pièce psychologique d’apprentissage, centrée sur les thèmes de la responsabilité, de la confiance et de la qualité des rapports entre individu et communauté. Cette lecture ambitieuse et puissante trouve un relais naturel dans la direction enlevée et expressive du célèbre chef allemand Cornelius Meister, et dans le chant profond des excellents Michaël König, Simone Schneider, Martin Gantner, Okka von der Damerau

Distribution

Wagner : Lohengrin [DVD & Blu-ray]

Opéra romantique en trois actes

Musique et livret Richard Wagner

Heinrich der Vogler Goran Jurić
Lohengrin Michael König
Elsa von Brabant Simone Schneider
Friedrich von Telramund Martin Gantner
Ortrud Okka von der Damerau
Der Heerrufer des Königs Shigeo Ishino
Vier Edle Torsten Hofmann, Heinz Göhrig, Andrew Bogard, Michael Nagl
Vier Edelknaben Elisabeth Von Stritzky, Heike Beckmann, Simone Jackel, Jie Zhang

Staatsopernchor Stuttgart
Staatsorchester Stuttgart

Direction musicale Cornelius Meister

Mise en scène Árpád Schilling
Décors Raimund Orfeo Voigt
Costumes Tina Kloempken
Collaboration aux costumes Saskia Schneider
Lumières Támás Banyai
Dramaturgie Miron Hakenbeck
Chef de choeur Manuel Pujol

Presse

« Michael König triomphe »
– Resmusica

« […] Le soprano sphérique de Simone Schneider… »
– Süddentsche Zeitung

« Le choeur est grandiose »
– Deutschlandfunk Kultur

« Du théâtre wagnérien cohérent et intelligent »
– Südwest Presse

Informations techniques

Enregistrement HD : Arènes de Vérone | 08/2017
Réalisation : Andy Sommer
Date de parution
 : 22 juin 2018
Distribution : Outhere Distribution France

2 DVD
Référence
: BAC175
Code-barre : 3760115301757
Durée : 223 min.
Livret : FR / ANG / ALL
Sous-titres : FR / ANG / ALL / ESP / JAP / KOR
Image : Couleur, 16/9, NTSC
Son : PCM 2.0
Code région : 0

1 BLU-RAY
Référence : BAC475
Code-barre : 3760115304758
Durée : 223 min.
Livret : FR / ANG / ALL
Sous-titres : FR / ANG / ALL / ESP / JAP / KOR
Image : Couleur, 16/9, Full HD
Son : PCM 2.0
Code région : A, B, C

VOUS AIMEREZ PEUT-ÊTRE AUSSI…