Ivor Bolton | Claus Guth | Patricia Petibon | Teatro Real – Madrid

Mozart : Lucio Silla

Mozart was not yet seventeen when Lucio Silla was created in Milan one December evening of 1772, yet we can still distinguish in this youthful composition some of the elements that established the exceptionally-gifted child musician as the greatest composer of all times. Indeed, with Lucio Silla, although a neoclassical “opera seria” in every way, it seems that Mozart was already learning to deconstruct and to free the traditional forms of musical drama from archaic conventions. We can also identify in this work an aesthetic premise that Mozart didn’t formulate until ten years later : it falls to music only to express and to reveal the psychological depths of the characters ; and the poetry in the libretto should only be its “obedient daughter”.

The opera is centered around the love roman dictator Lucio Silla bears for his enemy’s daughter Giunia, who favours the exiled senator Cecilio as the object of her affection. After many twists and turns, the lovers are united in marriage and Silla renounces his crown.

Tenor Kurt Streit is Lucio Silla, and soprano Patricia Petibon is Giunia for the last time, after having gained international recognition thanks to her numerous performances in this role, while mezzo-soprano Silvia Tro Santafe is the ardent Cecilio. In this monumental production, Claus Guth finds a way to respect both the classical setting and the formal innovations that make the opera so interesting. Ivor Bolton conducts the Orchestra and Chorus of the Teatro Real.

Press review

‘‘An appealing staging, excellent musical direction and a strong cast’’ – SEEN AND HEARD

‘‘Mozart’s playful flirting with opera seria is a real treat for music lovers. Composed two years after his furious Mitridate, Lucio Silla shows a 16-year-old genius who was starting to realise just how much could be achieved in the twisted margins of classic operatic forms. Its score is an exciting succession of innovations: mosts of the recitatives are accompagnato, the old structure of arias is frequently broken, with long and complex A-parts and the orchestral thread gives sense and harmonic coherence to the whole work.’’ – BACHTRACK

‘‘The singers shine at another level, starting with an excellent Patricia Petibon as Giunia, absolutely commited to her role with an absolute controle of the coloratura and with an intense legato, her arias, of an extreme difficulty, were handled with great ease and overwhelming dramatic abilities.’’ – OPERAWORLD

‘‘Patricia Petibon dominates the corporal language, her coloratura is much more than a waterfall of notes, and builds, details after details, subtilities after subtilities, her character. Silvia Tro Santafé is a valiant seasoned singer, and her aria from the second act revealed a first class singer’’ – EL PAIS

Pre-order

Clear
SKU: N/A. Category: .

Mozart : Lucio Silla [DVD & Blu-ray]

Dramma per musica in three acts (1772)

Music: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
Libretto: Giovanni de Gamerra with the help of Pietro Metastasio

Lucio Silla : Kurt Streit
Giunia : Patricia Petibon
Cecilio : Silvia Tro Santafé
Lucio Cinna : Inga Kalna
Celia : María José Moreno
Aufidio : Kenneth Tarver

Orchestra and Chorus of the Teatro Real – Madrid

Conductor : Ivor Bolton

Stage direction : Claus Guth

Revival stage director : Tine Buyse
Sets and costumes : Christian Schmidt
Lighting design : Manfred Voss
Dramaturg : Ronny Dietrich

Technical informations

HD recording : Teatro Real – Madrid | 10/2017
TV direction : Jérémie Cuvillier
Release date : 08 June 2018
Distribution : Naxos Distribution

2 DVD
Reference
: BAC150
Barcode : 3760115301504
Running time : 180 min.
Booklet : FR / ENG / GER / SPA
Subtitles : FR / ENG / GER / SPA / ITA / JAP / KOR
Image : Color, 16/9, NTSC
Sound : PCM 2.0, Dolby Digital 5.1
Region code : 0

1 BLU-RAY
Reference : BAC450
Barcode : 3760115304505
Running time : 180 min.
Libretto : FR / ENG / GER/ SPA
Subtitles : FR / ENG / GER / SPA / ITA / JAP / KOR
Image : Color, 16/9, Full HD
Sound : PCM 2.0, DTS HD Master audio 5.1
Region code : A, B, C

image gallery

Ivor Bolton | Claus Guth | Patricia Petibon | Teatro Real – Madrid

Mozart : Lucio Silla

Mozart n’avait pas encore 17 ans quand Lucio Silla fut créé à Milan un soir de décembre 1772, et pourtant on peut déjà distinguer dans cette composition de jeunesse certains des éléments qui allaient transformer l’enfant-génie en l’un des plus grands compositeurs de tous les temps. En effet, bien que Lucio Silla soit un opera seria néoclassique dans tous les sens du terme, il semble que Mozart déjà déconstruise et libère les formes traditionnelles du drame musical de conventions archaïsantes. On peut également identifier dans cet ouvrage un postulat esthétique que Mozart n’allait pas formuler avant près de dix ans : c’est à la musique qu’incombe l’expression et la mise au jour de la psyché des personnages ; à la poésie du livret de n’être que sa « fille obéissante ».

L’intrigue de l’opéra est centrée autour de l’amour non réciproque que porte le dictateur romain Lucio Silla à Giunia, la fille de son rival politique. Celle-ci en retour lui préfère Cecilio, un jeune sénateur exilé. Après de nombreux rebondissements, les amoureux sont réunis et Silla renonce au pouvoir.

La soprano Patricia Petibon fait dans cette production ses adieux au rôle de Giunia, un personnage qui lui aura valu un succès international. Le ténor Kurt Streit est Lucio Silla, et la mezzo-soprano Silvia Tro Santafé est l’ardent Cecilio. Le metteur en scène polymorphe Claus Guth signe une production monumentale et intrigante, qui respecte à la fois le classicisme de l’œuvre et les innovations formelles qui la rendent si fascinante. C’est le chef Ivor Bolton qui dirige l’Orchestre et les Chœurs du Teatro Real.

Revue de presse

«une mise en scène séduisante, une excellente direction musicale et un cast solide» – SEEN AND HEARD

«Ce flirt amusé de Mozart avec l’opéra seria devrait délecter les amateurs de musique. Composé deux ans après le furieux Mitridate, Lucio Silla laisse apercevoir un génie de 16 ans qui commence tout juste à comprendre ce qu’il peut accomplir en restant dans les marges des formes lyriques traditionnelles. Sa partition est une succession réjouissante d’innovations : la plupart des récitatifs sont accompagnato, l’antique structure des airs est souvent rompue, avec de très longues et complexes premières parties, et l’orchestre donne à la fois une direction et une cohérence artistiques à l’ensemble» – BACHTRACK

« une excellente Patricia Petibon dans le rôle de Giunia, totalement investie dans son rôle, avec un contrôle total des coloratures et un legato intense; ses airs, extrêmement difficiles, sont assurés avec aisance et une sublime interprétation dramatique» – OPERAWORLD

«Patricia Petibon domine le langage corporel, ses coloratures sont bien plus que de simples cascades de notes, tout en construisant, détail par détail, subtilité par subtilité, son personnage. Silvia Tro Santafé est une chanteuse vaillante et aguerrie, et son air du deuxième acte révèle une artiste de première classe» – EL PAIS

Pré-commander (parution le 08 juin 2018)

Effacer
UGS : N/A. Catégorie : .

Expédition prévue le 07 juin 2018

Mozart : Lucio Silla [DVD & Blu-ray]

Dramma per musica en trois actes (1772)

Musique : Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
Livret : Giovanni de Gamerra avec l’aide de Métastase

Lucio Silla : Kurt Streit
Giunia : Patricia Petibon
Cecilio : Silvia Tro Santafé
Lucio Cinna : Inga Kalna
Celia : María José Moreno
Aufidio : Kenneth Tarver

Orchestre et Chœurs du Teatro Real – Madrid

Direction musicale : Ivor Bolton

Mise en scène : Claus Guth

Supervision de la reprise : Tine Buyse
Décors et costumes : Christian Schmidt
Lumières : Manfred Voss
Dramaturgie : Ronny Dietrich

FICHE TECHNIQUE

Enregistrement HD : Teatro Real – Madrid | 10/2017
Réalisation : Jérémie Cuvillier
Date de parution : 08 juin 2018
Distribution : Outhere Distribution France

2 DVD
Référence
: BAC150
Code-barre : 3760115301504
Durée : 180 min.
Livret : FR / ANG / ALL / ESP
Sous-titres : FR / ANG / ALL / ESP / ITA / JAP / KOR
Image : Couleur, 16/9, NTSC
Son : PCM 2.0, Dolby Digital 5.1
Code région : 0

1 BLU-RAY
Référence : BAC450
Code-barre : 3760115304505
Durée : 180 min.
Livret : FR / ANG / ALL / ESP
Sous-titres : FR / ANG / ALL / ESP / ITA / JAP / KOR
Image : Couleur, 16/9, Full HD
Son : PCM 2.0, DTS HD Master audio 5.1
Code région : A, B, C

galerie photo

vous aimerez également...